Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Painting friction map 1 month 1 week ago #981

• jayd
  • jayd's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello

Carbon newbie here. Was wondering if we can paint friction map of the carbon cloth?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Painting friction map 1 month 1 week ago #983

• Sebastian
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 37
Hi jayd,

Unfortunately, we currently do not support painted friction.
I will check with the rest of the development team to see if that is something we could support in the future.
As soon as I know more, I will get back to you.

Cheers,
Sebastian

Painting friction map 1 month 1 week ago #984

• Sebastian
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
Hi jayd,

After talking this through, while it is possible to add support for painted friction, it is not a quick task.
Furthermore, it could have a noticeable impact on performance.

Do you mind explaining what exactly you are intending to use painted friction for?

For example, if you have a shirt which is made from different materials, then instead of painting friction (and all the other parameters), I would simulate it as a panelled garment, i.e. multiple cloths stitched together to form the shirt. Just like in real life.
Then each Carbon Cloth can have its own friction properties without having to paint it.
We have the Carbon Garment Processor node, which makes the setup much faster and easier for such use cases.
You can find more information in the documentation. There is also a tutorial.

Cheers,
Sebastian

Painting friction map 1 month 1 week ago #985

• jayd
  • jayd's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Hey Sebastian, 
Thanks for your prompt replies.